EHRBase questions

Hello!

I’m new to the openEHR world and this is my first time posting!

I’ve been going through the EHRBase documentation (which has been great) but I have some questions I haven’t been able to find the answer for.

1. Regarding 2.5. Step 4: Load Data — EHRbase documentation . How can the flat format be used in an application? Would the application need to parse the web template and construct the paths which map to a specific field/value?

2. Regarding 2.5. Step 4: Load Data — EHRbase documentation . I’m confused how to use the EHRBase Client Library. Where can I find it and how can I use it?

3. The docs include two ways to do most things: use the client library or use the REST API. For example, using the client library to create a composition or using the flat format API. Is there a preference to use one method over the other? Is it purely up to preference, or are there some usecases that make one option favourable over the other?

Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

The CDR should handle that conversion. Basically the app maps it;s data entry fields to the FLAT format then simply sends the completed JSON composition opbject tothe CDR via a /composition call, though right now this has to be via a local proprietary API not the formal openEHR REST API. Fortunately (well deliberately!!) the ehrBase varient is identical to the Better equivalent, other than the Base URL.

The only challenge here is figuring out what the FLAT format object should look like - for that you do need to parse the Web template and figure out how the flat paths are constructed from the ‘id’ segments. Better provide a ?template/example Ehrscape call that does this for you and generates a dummy FLYT composition, which is really helpful. I believe that is on it’s way for ehrBase.