Generating GraphQL from OPTs

There was a discussion on how to simplify working with openEHR in the Separating Models from Implementation.

I created a generator for GraphQL to find out if this is a viable approach.

I cannot upload ZIP files to Discourse so the download link and source code are on my site.

• There is a great Java example in the “java-apollo-android” folder.
  • Also “graphql.schema.json” for a Blood Pressure OPT => GraphQL schema in JSON.
  • And the “schema.graphql”.

Feedback is welcomed.

p.s.
EHRbase also has a generator for Java objects: SDK

1 Like

Very interesting @NeoEHR ! I am no GraphQL expert, but have asked experienced colleagues to have a closer look.

I wonder about some initial things:

1. The intended/possible context of GraphQL query/mutation execution etc. A single field or subtreee of a versioned openEHR COMPOSITION is not modifiable without making and commiting a new version of the entire COMPOSITION (logically via a CONTRIBUTION). Are you considering using this in a “contribution builder” of some kind e.g. as described in: CONTRIBUTION builder supporting collaborative (multi user, multi device) editing? GraphQL? Operational Transformation? ? (If so, we could load an existing version of a COMPOSITION (or several different compositions etc) into the builder, query and manipulate it (them) and then when we feel finished tell the builder to committ the changed objects via a new CONTRIBUTION.
  2. The leaf data types, like different instances of DV_QUANTITY at different paths in listing 1 below seem to repeat the basic structure of DV_QUANTITY under new names BloodPressureDataHistoryEventAnyEventDataBloodPressureItemDiastolicValueDvQuantity has the same content as the corresponding BloodPressureDataHistoryEventAnyEventDataBloodPressureItemDiastolicValueDvQuantity
    This touches a bit upon what @Seref wrote about repeated data types in self contained worlds in
    Separating Models from Implementation - #79 by Seref