Tools used to transform data source to a canonical JSON

Hello everybody,

I’m new to openEHR. I studied openEHR specification and I started playing around with opensource tools that are available.
I would like to get informations, from your experience, about tools used to transform data source format (CDA for example) to a canonical JSON composition. And if possible with a nice interface to do the mapping :slight_smile:
I had read some topic in the forum such as:
Graphical data mapping tools supporting openEHR?
HL7 V2 to OpenEHR
And I understand that Mirth and LinkEhr seems to be used. Do you know others?

From my comprehension, any integration engine which can handle JSON format or XML should be able to do the transformation.

I also read that some of you prefer to perform this mapping directly in the code. In this case, is there a must library to use?

Thank you for your answer.
BR

2 Likes

Hi @lbettini

I don’t know if there is any tool available specific for this.

My personal opinion is mapping model to model, not instance to instance. In CDA, following good practices, there should be an Implementation Guide document that says how to structure each type of CDA. In openEHR that is done in a Template. So I would read the IG and map to a corresponding Template. Then implement the mapping rules. For instance, if my goal is integrating two systems in a network, I would do that implementation in an Integration Engine like Mirth Connect. For transforming documents at rest, I would use some mapping library or a language with good support for XML/JSON, but following the same mapping rules designed before.

The point is: it’s difficult to have a tool that maps any CDA to an openEHR COMPOSITION or vice versa, it’s something that should be done case by case, for each type of CDA (or whatever input model you have) to a specific openEHR Template.

Hope that helps.

3 Likes

Hi Pablo

Thank you very much for your answer, very clear

Have a nice day