Relationship between FHIR and openEHR

I am new to openEHR ( and Health informatics in general ) space but find myself stuck with this question.

How do HL7 FHIR and openEHR relate ? I understand that HL7 v2 etc is basic messaging for interoperability. But FHIR seems to add some Clinical Data Modeling to this in the form of resources - A Visit with a Patient with an Observation is to my mind a Clinical Model no ? And when you add in a FHIR server concept are we not verging on the CDR ?

So then openEHR models the same Clinical concept through Archetypes, aggregated within a Template. - fantastic ( this I think I get and see where it fits in openEHR )

Next - where is the cross over in interoperability?

Is openEHR designed to - provide Archetypes as direct map to the model on the screen? My understanding is yes.( Datasource and UI interoperbility if you will )… i.e. (In its simplest form) - Client calls Server - Server runs AQL on the data and returns XML result, client runs XSL over that to generate HTML -

But isnt FHIR more about interoperability and openEHR about data modelling? - so now are we suggesting an openEHR server serves the result as an openEHR standard - and we try Map it to FHIR resources and serve it to the front end or any interoperable system.

Should we be looking at picking one and forgetting the other ?

There is a lot in this - but as I said I am very confused.

Thanks.

4 Likes

Yep, openEHR and FHIR can cooperate, see this blog post about it by Alastair Allen. I would also encourage you to read the excellent Thomas’ post about it

BTW, openEHR also defines a REST API and simplified formats that provide easy interoperability with little effort (as every known provider implements it)

2 Likes

You might also find this INTEROPen document helpful - it gives more a of a high-end view of the relationship.

https://ripple.foundation/2019/03/interopen-paper-on-fhir-openehr/