Implementing BMM in other languages

I love the openEHR data modelling idea and I’m relatively new here. As a developer, I find it really hard to understand and implement BMMs in my code. I want to, create a javascript client to create composition instances and doing this is not very straight forward. All I’m concerned about is the structure of the data at this point. And I want to send it to an openEHR API endpoint. My question is, why not use something like protobuf that has well established tolling in almost all languages instead of BMM? As of now, I’m limited to using only Java as my language if I want to communicate with an openEHR REST interface (because Archie is in Java and all SDKs like EHRBase’s depend on Archie). There are other methods like the Flatform and copy-pasting the composition xml/json instance from tools like https://toolkit.cabolabs.com/. But all of this seems hacky.

1 Like

To use something like protobuf to represent object models probably won’t work, because protobuf has no inheritance, generics (template types), and limited primitive types. For moving openEHR data, I would like to see it be used, and the mapping would need to be developed starting from one of the following:

You will actually see protobuf in among the protocols mentioned in the service model.

Other people probably have better knowledge of using protobuf (including @Seref) and might have suggestions - e.g. using XSDs might actually be an easier starting point.

It would be great to get a protobuf expression of the openEHR RM created (even by hand), we’ll publish it officially on Github, and the authors will be famous :wink:

2 Likes

protocol buffers is a serialisation format with some schema support. you could use it to persist and read back BMM models, replacing ODIN or JSON, but you’d still have to write quite a bit of code on top of that to make BMM helpful in the way Archie does.