Operative Procedure Coding {OPCS,HRG}

Hi all,
I am a vascular surgeon interested in EHRs/EMRs. I am relatively new to OpenEHR. Is there a representation in the openEHR framework analogous to “OPCS procedure codes” or “HRG Codes” that can represent different surgical/radiological procedures?

Hi @sobath welcome!

I think the best entry point is the architecture overview document openEHR Architecture Overview

It touches all the basics.

1 Like

Hi Sobath,

OPCS/ HRG are complimentary to what openEHR offers. Typically you would use a Procedure archetype, perhaps in an operative notes composition template, then the procedure name would be coded using an OPCS and/or HRG code.

The Procedure archetype is at Clinical Knowledge Manager

This is from the openOutcomes project

The template can be viewed at Archetype Designer

From a different use-case, her is how the data would look - where the procedure name is coded using SNOMED CT - it would be exactly the same for OPCS etc, and you can carry multiple codes if required.

"procedures_list/procedures/procedure:0/procedure_name|value": "Excision of palmar aponeurosis for Dupuytren's contracture of hand",

"procedures_list/procedures/procedure:0/procedure_name|terminology": "SNOMED-CT",

"procedures_list/procedures/procedure:0/procedure_name|code": "398211002",

"procedures_list/procedures/procedure:0/comment": "No intra-operative problems",

For imaging procedures we would normally record a result with

Dear @pablo,

Many thanks for your reply and the link. Please bear with me as I am trying to understand the basic concepts behind the openEHR framework.

Is there a need to try and represent every medical concept in archetypes? Since 50% of medical concerts become outdated in 5 years how do you keep up with the changes?