Lack of German translation of existing CLUSTER

Hello everyone,

I’m relatively new to working with openEHR and I’m currently engaged in the process of creating templates that are suitable for representing the official German oBDS dataset. While existing templates from the Use Case Oncology aren’t entirely applicable, I am using them as a starting point for building my templates. I’ve encountered some challenges along the way where I’m unsure about the best course of action.

For instance, I’m developing a new CLUSTER archetype for the prostate module, which is being reused in many templates I’m planning to create. In this module, I need to record the primary and secondary grades, as well as the score result of the Gleason Score. There’s an existing CLUSTER archetype for the Gleason Score, but it’s only available in English. While I can create a SLOT(CLUSTER) within my CLUSTER to potentially insert the existing Gleason Score, the lack of a German translation poses an issue for me.

I’m seeking guidance on how to proceed in this situation. Should I consider translating the existing “Gleason Score” archetype into German and then utilize it, or are there other alternatives worth exploring? (I believe the translation shouldn’t be too complex, as this archetype comprises only 5 items.) Converting my own templates or the CLUSTER to English doesn’t seem practical, as my goal is to specifically align with the German oBDS dataset.

I truly appreciate your time and assistance in this matter.

Best regards,
Herwig Nicolaus

Hi Harwig,

I was the original author of Gleason archetype , and although it is now fairly old, I suspect it still stands up fairly well. On that basis, I think a German tranlsation is likely to be helpful and not ‘wasted’ by a lot of changes to the archetype, particulary if you stick to dataitems and only do minimal work on Use/ musues aspects ( fro now).