Better AQL : Selecting Data from "any event"

I have a template with any event as parent event with cardinality 0…*. I want to select few columns from any_event:0 as well as few from any_event:1 in a single query. Is there any way to do this.

I am new to OpenEHR and AQL so any help would be appreciated.

Hi!

It depends on a few factors:

1. Do you want results from any number of "Any event"s, in cases where the composition contains more than the two? If not, how do you identify the two you want?
  2. Are the elements you want returned from each of them the same?

If the answers to both questions are “yes”, something like this should work:

SELECT
     e/path/to/element/1,
     e/path/to/element/2
FROM COMPOSITION c
     CONTAINS OBSERVATION o[full ID of the OBSERVATION archetype containing the events]
          CONTAINS EVENT e

This would return the contents of the two elements identified by their paths in the SELECT clause, from any event contained within the OBSERVATION archetype identified by its ID, contained within any COMPOSITION. You can further constrain this if you want to, for example by specifying that the COMPOSITION must be based on a specific template, values of specific elements, the order of the returned rows, or the number of rows in the returned set.

I have element like:
laboratory_test_result/any_event:0/conclusion
laboratory_test_result/any_event:1/conclusion

I am not sure how could i get path to this exact element where i just want to show conclusion of any_event:1.

Thanls for your response. Greatly appreciate the help.

In theory, according to the specifications you could add the following to the AQL if you want to get the two first events (chronologically, being e the path to the event):

ORDER BY
    e/time ASC
LIMIT 2

But I don’t know if this is supported by the implementations.

It is supported AFAIK but also depending on the implementation, the multiple events may be labelled with names like event[at0003,‘AnyEvent#1’]