Best practice for updating templates

Hi all,

I’m new to openEHR and have been playing around with ehrbase. I am wondering what is the best practice for updating a template that has been uploaded to an openEHR server.

I have noticed in the REST spec that there is no DELETE or PUT/PATCH endpoint for templates, and in my experimenting with ehrbase it prohibits me from uploading a template with the same template_id. My impression is therefore that templates can not be deleted or updated and the template_id must be unique (makes sense).

From looking at other templates and archetypes I named my test template ID acme.test-consult.v0(i.e. including the major version but omitting the minor and patch) however in order to make a change it seems I need to change the template_id. Should I put the full semver-style version as the template_id? E.g. acme.test-consult.v0.0.1? I haven’t seen the full version name included in any other example, but it’s the only way I can seem to upload a new version of an existing template. I noticed that a lot of archetypes have a revision field that contains the full semver-style version, however ehrbase at least does not seem to look at this.

Thanks!

Hi @jessarcher,

we are currently working on the Admin API in EHRbase that will allow you to delete and update Templates. There is also a spring configuration that allows to simply overwrite templates with the same ID. You can find this one in the application.yml

or you provide it as a parameter if you are using Docker:

… -e DB_USER=ehrbase -e DB_PASS=ehrbase -e SYSTEM_ALLOW_TEMPLATE_OVERWRITE=true

Using semver-style is advised. When overwriting templates the challenge is to ensure it is backwards compatible and EHRbase unfortunately does not have these checks in place at the moment (I think the Clinical Knowledge Manager has some means to distingush between minor and breaking changes).

Hope this helps!

1 Like

Hi Jess,