Archetypes or templates hematology

Hi, I´m a master’s student at KI currently doing my master’s thesis. I am fairly new to openEHR, I have been searching in the CKM for archetypes regarding hematology and more specifically stem cell transplantation. I have not found such archetypes. I was just wondering if you know any archetypes or templates concerning autologous and allogeneic stem cell transplantation that I have missed?

Thank you in advance!

Best Regards Frida

3 Likes

Hi Frida, welcome to the community!

As far as I know, there are no archetypes specifically about stem cell transplantation. However, in most cases the bulk of clinical recording requirements for a specific use case will be covered by generic archetypes such as Problem/diagnosis, Laboratory test result, Service request, Procedure and the Medication family of archetypes, along with appropriate use of terminologies.

Then there are some specific requirements where we need to create specific archetypes. These will often be CLUSTER archetypes to be used to add detailed elements to some of the above mentioned archetypes, or sometimes completely new archetypes.

To further inform the discussion, are there any specific kinds of information regarding stem cell transplantation you’re looking for?

3 Likes

Hi Frida and welcome…

This is very common obstacle for newbies to openEHR
… ‘I am looking for archetypes on X’ but cannot find them.

This is for 2 reasons

1. Most projects will make heavy use of generic archetypes like Service request, Procedure, Lab Tests and analytes, Imaging tests coupled with a terminology to provide the content, and wrapped up in templates.

2. Medicine is really complex and granular so it is quite possible that some specific stem cell transplant are required but have not yet been developed. Or have been developed but have not been made publicly available. Asking here is a good first start to see if other have been into the same area.